Peppers with Rice In
[2005-08-13]

I think my brain crawled out of my ear about half an hour ago and is now squelching off to the airport where it intends to secretly board a plane and go on holiday to somewhere sunny where it can relax and drink brightly coloured drinks with sparkly things in the glass. There's always the possibility that it might be mistaken for a terrorist and shot by overzealous police but it's a risk my brain is willing to take. Neighbours probably think we're mad. In trying to communicate to Alex that I wanted him to buy two baking potatoes from Sainsburys, we managed to get into such a state of confusion that neither of us had the faintest idea what the other was talking about, and (as often happens in these situations), I got frustrated and stopped listening, preferring to stare at the wall with one eye glaring and the other slightly squinted, blocking out the noise of him speaking. So when he politely and gently asked "Are we having potatoes and peppers?" I assumed he was being dense and bellowed "PEPPERS WITH RICE IN! PEPPERS WITH RICE IN!", which is one of the oddest things I've ever heard myself bellow.
<< || >>