What do you mean, sugar is bad??
[2006-03-09]


Good Lord. Yes, Good Lord. This is my second entry of the day. Although the first entry was quite clearly padded out with pictures and had very little substance, so I think I am justified and you should refrain from stoning me to death. Yes, go on - just put that rock down. You'll have someone's eye out.

PREGNANCY COMPLICATION UPDATE

I couldn't have a nice straightforward pregnancy. Oh no. I had to be monitored closely due to an eating disorder, meaning extra trips to the hospital and extra scans. Then we found out I had placenta praevia (hence the lack of sex), meaning that I have to have more extra scans and tests and things.

First of all today I mentioned to the midwife that I'd been having some chest pains, so she sent me off to be checked by the doctor "IN CASE I HAD A BLOOD CLOT IN MY LUNG" (not that I was to worry or anything). I was convinced that it was just a muscle spasm type thing, but off I toddled. To be told "it seems to be muscular".

I should have been a doctor.

So then back to the midwife, where she demanded the wee (they have to have wee, they can't survive without wee).

I was then informed that it's likely that I have gestational diabetes, meaning that I have to have a glucose tolerance test next Friday and could potentially be on insulin for the remainder of my pregnancy. What great fun! Especially as gestational diabetes can result in BIG GIANT MONSTER BABIES.

I'll update next Friday. Watch this space. In the mean time, no creme eggs.

Crap.

YET MORE OF THE BABY SHOPPING.

Off to Toys R Us tonight, for to try to purchase the moses basket! And possibly the bouncing chair thingy-wotsit. And possibly more things while we're there, if I can manage a good enough puppydog face for Alex to stop doing that 'growling protectively when I'm getting too close to his wallet' thing.

There's a Mothercare World on the same complex, too...I wonder what time they're open until...hmm. I sense much of the cuteness on the horizon.

(Seriously, have you looked at baby clothes lately? Go into Next, as their baby clothes are the best, and have a look. For the full effect you have to see tiny tiny baby clothes next to full sized people clothes...the cuteness is unrivalled).

AM I REALLY THAT HUGE?

I'm getting a little disconcerted by the number of people who think that my bump is massive. The plumber who came round the other day got all very disturbed and amused when I told him I had ten weeks left, saying "ooh, you've got an uncomfortable ten weeks ahead of you...that looks like a big baby..." Other women who have been pregnant comment on the size of the bump. When I went in to see the doctor today she said "so, are you about 35, 36 weeks now?", before pulling a very shocked face when I responded with "no...31".

I'm going to be like a pig weeble by the time this is over. Oh look, someone put up a statue of me. How kind.

BIBLICAL WEATHER AGAIN

Over the summer we had biblical weather. I was working at the time, and I remember being sat in the pub round the corner from the office, peering out of the windows and commenting that the end of the world was nigh. This was a couple of weeks after there'd been a tornado in Birmingham, and we were having some obscure weather - hail followed by sunshine followed by torrential downpours followed by a heatwave. This was a tad unnerving.

It's all started again. It was warm this morning, then cold and raining, then pissing down, then warm and sunny, then the sky went all dark and it was pissing down again...and now the sun has come out, the sky is blue and the birds are singing happily to themselves. It's all very weird. I don't like it.

Although outside is now very pretty - we have a big tree in our garden and the sun is shining on it; every time the wind blows it looks all glisteny and nice. And the combination of sun and bird-shouting makes me feel all summery and happy.

AND FINALLY...

An obscure website I found whil I was talking to Amoose (Amy, my sister) yesterday. Cats in Sinks. Someone devoted time and effort to creating this. Hmmm.

IT'S A BEAUTIFUL TIME
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker

PLEASE HUG ME, PLEASE. I'M VERY HUGGABLE, REALLY.


give Kate-Lee more *HUGS*Get hugs of your own

<< || >>