Freaked out by baby preparation...
[2006-03-19]


This is going to be ridiculously short, as Alex is downstairs doing his ironing and he'll be finished soon, so I really want to get done on ye olde paputer and go and curl up on him for a while. He really is very curl-up-on-able.

Firstly...

THE NURSERY!

It's almost finished!!! The walls are painted, the cot and changing table are assembled...all we need now is the extra little bits and stuff. I've sent pictures to peoples, so when my mental ickle sis' finally receives them I'll ask her to upload so that I can post them on here for your perusal. And then you must act interested and say things like "ooh..." and "aaahh...".

The appreciative noises are important. Don't forget them.

ALSO...

I have everything I need for the hospital bag. Lou and Steph (Lou's ace little sister) took me shopping to Solihull yesterday and I somehow managed to spend �48 in boots...and that's after the discounts! But anyway. People have advised that I'll feel pretty gross after giving birth so will probably want some nice shower stuff to make me feel more human. Boots are fantastic - 3 for 2 on miniature sanctuary products and 3 for 2 on tiny Charles Worthington stuff - exactly what you need for a hospital bag when you want to feel nice! We also picked up all the less than glamourous essentials (maternity sanitary towels, breast pads and other stuff like that), but at least I now have everything if I do happen to go into labour at any time soon*.

Alex and I went to Merry Hell today to get the last little bits, so I now have two nursing bras (so sexy...I mourn my underwired underwear!), lots of 'sensible' black pants (no thongs for me!) and some dark and hugely patterned pyjama bottoms (blood disguising). Alex is donating some of his old shirts to me for me to give birth in and to wear in the hospital, as I really REALLY hate maternity nightshirts. They're just so...ugh. But anyway. I really do have everything I need, right down to a new hairbrush.

I'm fucking freaked out.

*Giving birth any time soon. The next person who, upon hearing that we're almost ready for Heather's arrival, says "Well, I suppose you have to be ready in case she's premature" will find themselves with a layette hanger inserted firmly up their bum. Especially people who then go on to say that "there's a very good survival rate for premature babies". It's ok when one person does it...but when two or more people start discussing the likelihood of a premature birth...well...JUST NO! I don't want to think about that!!! She's staying in there until at least 38 weeks, thank you very much!

Right, I got distracted by a conversation with Amy (my ickle sis) on msn, so have been on puter for much longer than I wanted to be. I'll write a proper entry tomorrow.

BEYOND FREAKED OUT...
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker

FOR EVERY HUG RECEIVED, I WILL STROKE A KITTEN. THINK OF THE KITTENS.


give Kate-Lee more *HUGS*Get hugs of your own

<< || >>