More baby-related brain vomit
[2006-03-20]


GOOD MORNING!

And good morning to you too. It's not even 9am yet and, for some totally unknown reason, I'm already up, showered and dressed. I seem incapable of staying in bed at the moment. Maybe I should see a doctor about this terrible affliction.

I'm dressed like a chav today, and do you know what? I don't care! I'm so severely limited on clothing choices I've been forced to resort to the Bench fleecey type hoodie thing I bought ages ago (before Bench became a chav label and before hoodies meant you were going to rob a convenience store). But it's warm, dammit, so by God I'm not taking it off. Not for you, not for anybody. Maybe for Alex, if he gives me incentive. But that's an entirely different matter.

Oh God. Once again I've started an entry by rambling on about boring mundane nothingness...I must stop this.

Is anyone still there? No? Oh. Well sod you then. I'll just write to myself.

PICTURES OF THE NURSERY!!!

My ickle sis obliged on uploading the nursery pics, so you must now look at them and make appreciative noises. It's not finished yet - we've got a hangy storage thing to put up, and we're having pictures from 'The Cat in the Hat' on the walls, along with some shelves and stuff. Oh, and Alex's Nan is donating a rocking chair. And hopefully we'll have a wardrobe in there too (Alex is already moaning about the amount of hanger space the baby clothes are taking up in our wardrobe...)

But anyway. You can get the idea from this. And, to complete the picture, just mentally add Alex and I standing in the centre of the room looking around with very disturbed expressions on our faces.

Seriously, for some reason it's really creeping me out. I think it's suddenly become far too easy to imagine a baby in there - ok, so we've been getting it ready for a while now, but even with the walls painted it wasn't a nursery when everything was still in boxes and there was newspaper on the floor. Now it looks like a little girls room, which I don't think either of us was ready for. We don't have a spare room any more, we actually have a nursery.

I'm really not communicating this too well. But yes - Alex and I are a tad freaked out.

ANTENATAL CLASS TOMORROW.

The NHS are great. They sent us a form for booking our antenatal classes, on which we were required to label our first, second and third preferences for days/times to attend. We put:
1. Weekday evenings 7 - 9
2. Weekday afternoons 4 - 6
3. Weekend day course
So. We recieved our antenatal class booking:
-- Tuesday day course, 10am - 4pm.

Bloody crap. Why did they bother asking about preferences? Alex now has to take a day off work - a slight problem as he's classed as self employed and therefore doesn't get paid when he's not there. Buggerit and damnation and bleeding bloody hell. Unpaid days off work - just what you need when you're having a baby in less than two months.

But anyway.

I'm really not sure what to expect from this class, as I'm guessing that it's not going to be like the antenatal classes usually shown on American sitcoms*. We both have some questions we want to ask ("How in Gods name do you make up a cot/moses blanket with sheets?" "Is it better to have an episiostomy or to tear?") and Alex is hoping to learn some essental skills (like "how to pick up a baby"), as he's never actually been in the vicinity of a newborn before.

Hugely evil bit coming up - avert your eyes! Avert them, I say!!

I just really hope that we won't get there and find out that we're the only married couple, or that we've got to spend the day surrounded by 16 year old teenagers who've bought their best friend with them. I really, really hope that there's be some people like us - not just single teens or chavs, but some married people in their 20s and 30s...why am I bothered? Why in Gods name am I bothered? I'll be there with Alex, it doesn't matter!

Maybe I was drawn in by the lovely friendships that developed in 'The Fat Ladies Club' and am hoping to meet a kindred spirit who will be as pregnant as I am, who will give birth on the same day and who I can keep forever as our children grow up together. It's unlikely, but you have to allow me these little irrational fantasies.

*With canned laughter echoing eerily around the room and everything.

Do you know what?

I think I want a cup of tea. Oh yes. And I also think that I might want some toast, but I'll have to consider this a little more. It's a big decision.

Christ this was the most boring entry in the history of EVER. I do apologise. I shall try to reboot my brain and be more interesting in all subsequent entries. In the meantime, please refrain from stoning me to death.

Thank you for your co-operation.

YOU WANT ME TO PUSH A PERSON OUT OF WHERE!?
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker

HUG IT. HUG IT GOOD. HUG IT. HUG IT REAL GOOD.


give Kate-Lee more *HUGS*Get hugs of your own

<< || >>