Second entry of the day - where is all this time coming from?
[Thursday, Jun. 15, 2006]

I AM SO DAMNED CLEVER

Well, not incredibly clever. But enough to be pleased - I was really worried about my results for this year because I'd been so distracted by the thought of having a baby, along with all the necessary baby planning and preparation...and the fact that a degree suddenly seemed totally insignificant when compared to bringing a new life into the world!

Anyway, I've managed to stay at a comfortable 2:1 average so WOOHOO!!! Go me!!! I! Am! Great!!!

Will you just look at that little ego massage I just gave myself there? Slap my wrist. Or slap my thigh (though this may be a little too jovial for the situation).

I can't really massage my ego too much (it'll get sore) as both Briony and Vanessa managed to get over 80% on a couple of things. 80%! That's virtually impossible!

PUBBAGE.

After collecting results Briony and Vanessa took me to the pub because, as they put it, I needed some time with the girls.

They've also invited me to an open air performance of Titus Andronicus tomorrow night, saying "Alex can look after Heather by himself" in such a frightening tone that I suspect they might beat Alex to death if he dared to grumble. It would be very good...I'll have to ask him. But this pleases me, as I do love being invited to things.

AND (yes, there's more) we've arranged to have lunch at Briony's next Tuesday and I'm taking Heather with me. It may not sound like much, but it's the first trip out H and I will have have had without Alex being there.

COME HOME COME HOME COME HOME

Alex has booked tomorrow off work so we can go and register Heather's birth. This means that our weekend starts when Alex gets back here at 5pm...roughly 50 minutes from now. I want him here IMMEDIATELY as I am tired and filling time* until I can have a cuddle with somebody who's big enough to hug me back. Not that I don't enjoy Heather cuddles, of course, but sometimes it's nice to have a hug that doesn't end in vomit dribbling down your cleavage.

*Hence the disturbing amount of rambling and nonsense in this entry.

AM I JUST NOT CYNICAL ENOUGH?

Has everyone been watching Big Brother? Am I the only person in the whole country who feels a bit sorry for Nikki? Ok, she is very loud and shrieky, and she does throw a hell of a lot of temper tantrums...but I just think she's very insecure and that if people tried to boost her self-confidence instead of being judgemental and mean she'd probably calm down and be a bit easier to cope with. I want her to stay in the house for as long as possible and, when she does come out, for everyone to cheer and say nice things about her, just so that she can see that people do like her. I think I'm being soft, for some reason. About Nikki. God knows.

WEIRD WEIRD CONVERSATION

Somehow, over lunch, we got into a conversation about two of our lesbian lecturers: "Who would you sleep with and why?" I feel sorry for the waitress who came over just in time to hear:

Me: "Helen's too masculine for me, I'd find her intimidating"
Vanessa: "I think that's the attraction for me. I'd need someone who could be dominant."
Me: "You want pvc and whips?"
Vanessa: *purrs*
Briony: "Do you think she owns a strap on?"
*pause*
Me: "I've just imagined her wearing one"

I dread to think what was said when waitress girl got back into the kitchen.

CRISPY FRIED EAR

Somehow, when I was doing my hair at lightening speed the other day, I managed to catch my ear in the straighteners. I didn't realise until fifteen minutes afterwards when I became aware that my ear was stinging and asked Alex to take a peek...it turned out I'd actually burnt the skin right off it. It was all open and exposed and weeping nasty clear fluid which stuck to my hair every time it dried and pulled painfully away every time I moved my head. How in hell did I do this and not realise?? How???

Anyway, it's gone all crispy now and I really want to pick it. I know that's disgusting, but it really feels pickable. I mean, seriously, I burnt the skin right off - the scab must be quite impressive.

*sits on hands to prevent picking*

Right...it's 4.30pm now, so Alex will be home pretty soon. If little Heather could stay asleep for just a while longer I could try to get a brief nap in before he gets back. Except H has head/pillow sense and always wakes up the second I try to sleep. Pessimistic, moi? Never!

15TH JUNE - H IS A MONTH OLD!
Lilypie 1st Birthday PicLilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

TRY THE NEW IMPROVED BUMPLESS HUG.



give Kate-Lee more *HUGS*Get hugs of your own

<< || >>