Workmen again
[2005-11-09]

Oh God - workmen all over the house AGAIN. This time they're fitting some opening windows into the conservatory, re-opening the windows at the front of the house (cos they'd been sealed shut) and are replacing the rotten doorframe in the kitchen. And possibly fixing the conservatory roof, as it's all disgusting and rain splashes in when it rains. Of course, when it rains. Silly me.

They aren't actually as bad as I'd expected...they're very polite, they're working quickly, they're not making personal phone calls every ten minutes and they even have their own kettle, mugs, coffee and milk in the garden with them, so I'm not having to do customary tea making. I'm so tired though - they turned up at 8.15 this morning and there's been much banging ever since. I want to go and sit downstairs with some soup and a chicken and crisp sandwich (nutritious) and watch mind-numbing tv for a while. But I can't. Because there's a chap in the front room and there's no window. And I want tomato soup, but I can't go out and get any...we've only got chicken soup...I want tomato. And I want some chocolate...possibly another double decker, possibly a tube of smarties, possibly a big tin of roses all to myself with a side order of turkish delight. Mmm. But I can't go out cos there's men all over the place and missing windows. Ah, that'll explain why I'm feeling chilly. I'm going to put the heating on now. What a clever plan.

<< || >>