Heather Louisa Ruth!
[Friday, May. 19, 2006]


Well, she's finally here! I'm writing this in a weird state of knackered "functioning on adrenaline but unable to sleep" tiredness while my little angel sleeps peacefully in a moses basket next to me - clean nappy, full tummy, warm and thoroughly cuddled; that's all it takes when you're four days old.

This isn't going to be a hugely long entry as I don't have loads of time to be on t'internet right at the moment (for obvious reasons), but I will be back on at some point over the next few days to post the (somewhat comical) birth story!

But for now I'll simply tell you:

Heather Louisa Ruth
15th May at 16.50
Weighing 8lbs 13 and measuring 54cms

...and Mummy DIDN'T TEAR!!! Still bloody sore though. Nobody ever tells you that you'll feel like you were thrown down a concrete staircase and then beaten with a baseball bat after giving birth - it's not just your ladybits it's EVERYWHERE. I've been more like an 80 year old than ever for the past few days.

Heather is doing great; such young babies tend to just sleep most of the time, but she's becoming more and more alert by the day and today actually made me cry by being so amazing; I put her under her cot mobile and watched her eyes light up in total fascination, before she started actually moving her head around to follow the moving figures. It may not sound like much, but to me it's the best thing I've ever seen.

We've also developed the "Bollocks to Midwives" feeding technique; she doesn't like breastfeeding much and we were both getting distressed, so Alex and I tried her on the bottle. She loves it. But then yesterday she started rooting about for my nipple through my top, so I quickly released the boob (like "release the hounds" but infinitely more sinister and worrying)...at which point she latched on by herself, without me touching her. Bollocks do you have to guide the babies head onto the nipple; Heather refuses to feed if you try to guide her. She is independant baby.

Bollocks to midwives, that's what we say.

And now I shall leave you with some photos!

Excuse the ridiculous white bits round the edge - I bollocksed it all up but I'm too sleep deprived to care.

So there.

Sleeping - 3 days old

Sleeping (again) 3 days old

With Auntie Amy (very likely eyeing up Auntie Amy's large boobs...mmm, lunch)

My little froggy baby

xxx

<< || >>