Results day, baby bath etc
[Thursday, Jun. 15, 2006]

The little bean is still asleep...but not for long. I shall be quick.

BRAIN. HAS. MELTED.

I would be quick if I could remember anything I was planning on writing. I think it's all the pressure; like having a tiny little dictator sat in the corner of the room...a tiny psychic dictator who plants messages in my brain that I must add entries within two minutes flat, leading me to feel as though I must condense all the important information* into the smallest possible package...resulting in me forgetting everything I had wanted to type. Yes.

*Is there ever any important information in my diary? Ever?

RESULTS DAY

All our results are back from uni today, so Mom's coming round to babysit while I go in with Vanessa to collect them. I'm actually slightly nervous; this year has been quite challenging, what with me being slightly preoccupied with pregnancy and birth, eventually becoming too big to get around easily (leading to me missing one or two lectures) and all the other stuff as well! I've managed to keep a fairly high 2:1 average so far but am so scared that the assignments I did towards the end of my pregnancy will be lower than my usual...I guess I'll find out anyway by about 11.30 today so should probably just stop worrying about it until then, as there's really no point dwelling on "what if?"

Right, have stopped. Honest.

LOVELY PEOPLE

Vanessa is 36 but looks like she's about 25, has three children, is super intelligent and sensible, reads lots of very clever books...and spends a lot of her free time on her skateboard. I love Vanessa - she's exactly the sort of person I'd like to be when I'm 36; she constantly surprises people because nobody can quite pin her down with a definition. She's decided that I need a break out of the house away from Heather for a while so, while Mom is babysitting today, she's taking me into uni to collect results...but then has TOLD me that we're meeting Briony for a cuppa for a couple of hours. Lovely people.

Vanessa really is one of the strongest people I've ever met, too - she had a really bad year last year (the sort of bad year that would even be turned down as a plot in Eastenders because, really, nobody could have that many bad things happen to them in that short space of time). I obviously wouldn't post her life on here, but just wanted to mention something that's never discussed but which crops up in my head every now and again and makes me feel sad; she recently found out that she's got a medical problem which means she's only got a 15 year life expectancy now...but she could potentially die at any time. I wish I could offer her support or hugs, but she's just not that sort of person - she has a lot of strength and dignity and wouldn't appreciate it. But I just wanted to say how much I respect her for her amazing attitude towards life.

DISSERTATION AND MIKE

On another serious note (I'll keep this brief as it's not often I'm serious), I decided that I would stick with my original idea for my dissertation, even though Mike isn't here. He inspired such a great passion in me that it would be wrong to deny that, so I'm just going to have to work extra hard to compensate for the fact that an amazing and clever man, who would have been my dissertation tutor for this, is no longer with us.

I found out a few weeks ago that he actually committed suicide; he had been ill for a very long time so I hope that this was because he simply couldn't take his illness any more, not because of anything else. He was so loved by everybody who met him and he really made a difference to people's lives, so I just hope that wherever he is now he knows how much we all miss him and how often we think about him. He really has been a huge influence in my life; an inspiration, motivation and role model.

BLOODY FOOTBALL

God damn World Cup. Ok, I actually can enjoy England matches because I really would like us to win, but still.

BLOODY FOOTBALL THEMED ADVERTS

Oh. My. God. How many adverts at the moment have got a world cup theme, regardless of how far fetched the link between product/football is?

Adverts for pizzas, electrical goods, fast food places, insurance, EVERYTHING: bloody football themes. Hmm. I'm beginning to suffer from rage in every commercial break.

CLEAN BABY

I gave Heather a bath all by myself yesterday...ok, ok, I know it's not really that big an achievement...but it still kind of is. And the best thing? It was the first bath she's had where she hasn't tried to make the neighbours think that we're murdering her. The child has a serious pair of lungs on her, but yesterday she was very calm and happy; splashing her feet in the water and even staying peaceful when I washed her hair.

Although, she wasn't impressed when I took her out of the bath. Or when I put baby oil on her. Or when I replaced her nappy and sleepsuit. No...all of this led to the baby-massacre noises. She's such a funny little thing.

AND IN OTHER NEWS...

Have I posted on here that she's already smiling? She's been doing since she was about two weeks old, but we're now getting very obvious, full on, gummy grins! It's one of the cutest things ever...along with when Heather yawns, when Heather watches her people, Heather's feet (baby feet are really cute...come on, just try to argue with me. See - you can't) and when Alex holds Heather and dances around the room with her. He's so big and she's so small, it's just the height of cuteness.

TATTOO HUNT...AT SUPER SPEEDS!

Right...I'm going to bugger off now as I want to have a search for some tattoo ideas before little H wakes up...and she's already starting to caterpillar every now and again. Funny little bean.

Bg big love to you all.

15TH JUNE - H IS A MONTH OLD!
Lilypie 1st Birthday PicLilypie 1st Birthday Ticker

TRY THE NEW IMPROVED BUMPLESS HUG.



give Kate-Lee more *HUGS*Get hugs of your own

<< || >>